My SIM is purged. What does this mean?

'Purged' is a term used by the network for when a SIM enters an idle state. A SIM may enter this state or fall off the network for one of the following reasons:

  • To free up capacity for other users. The network will periodically remove users from cell sites if connectivity is not frequently shown by the SIM.
  • If the SIM has been idle for a significant period.
  • If the SIM is no longer in a device – a SIM will most likely appear as purged.

What happens when my SIM is purged?

Whilst the networks cannot confirm the time in which this happens, when the SIM is purged, the networks are unable to process traffic to/from the SIM. The SIM is essentially 'lost from the network'.

How can I fix this?

To clear the purged state, you will need to have access to the device. You can attempt to clear the status manually in the following ways: 

  • Force the device to switch between bearer services (2G, 3G and 4G).
  • Reboot/power cycle the device by turning it off and on.
  • Remove the SIM from the device and test both GSM and GPRS using a dongle or mobile phone. Send an SMS and connect to the internet.

Once these steps have been actioned, your SIM should register successfully onto the network. 
Note: The purged state must be cleared manually; the network cannot clear the state for you. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section